lemon, yoghurt and cream-cheese muffins.

April 29, 2010

I’m writing in the kitchen, thanks to the marvels of wireless internet, and a pot of beef bourguignon is simmering three feet away from me, releasing delicious smells into space. Can you smell it, internet? Admittedly, the stew is rather a segue to the actual topic of the post. I opened this blog to modify a muffin recipe in order to bake said muffins. Muffins!
.
.
.
(Before I depart from this tasty, tasty beef topic, however, I will note that I didn’t expect to use that much wine- we’re talking almost a bottle combined of merlot and cab sav poured into the pot around the delicious, delicious beefiness. It’d better be worth all that. This is good merlot we’re talking about.)
.
So. Muffins. This lovely recipe here is for strawberry and buffalo ricotta muffins. I want the lemon and cream-cheese variety, much like this recipe. Alterations and amendments, my dears. First step: converting all those messy metric measurements into simple cups and spoons. Thank the Lord for Google.

.

..

Lemon, yoghurt and cream-cheese muffins

.
Ingredients:
.
3 cups plain flour
1 tablespoon baking powder
3/4 to 1 cup of caster sugar
3/4 cup plain yoghurt
1/4 cup milk
2 eggs
100 grams butter, melted and cooled
zest and juice of 1 lemon
most of a tub of cream cheese
icing sugar
ground ginger (optional)
.
.
Method:
Sift flour, baking powder and sugar into a bowl.

Whisk eggs. Chuck in most of a cup of yoghurt and top up with milk. Whisk together and then pour over dry ingredients.

Pour over liquified butter.

Stir until combined (add more milk as necessary). Halfway through stirring, zest and juice one lemon into it.

Lob half-teaspoonfuls of cream cheese into the mix. Stir. Lightly. (This is not something I’m good at. I make bread by preference. This transfers to fairly solid cakes and muffins.)

Fill prepared muffin tin. Insert pieces of cream cheese into the middle, for more wonderful cheesiness. Bake in a preheated 350°F oven until golden, roughly 25-30 minutes.

Cool slightly in the pan before moving on a wire rack to cool completely.

When cool, dust with icing sugar.

.

Most of this recipe (minus amendments) thanks to this blog and recipe.

.

The muffins are baking as I speak. Focaccia dough is proving on the bench next to the electric kettle. The beef bourguignon is still bubbling away, and has been doing so for the past couple of hours. I feel thoroughly domestic.

.

On tasting the muffins, I have to say, putting in more cream cheese would have been excellent. As it is, the cream cheese is amazing. The lemon is subtle, but there. My beef with it is the sweetness- it’s just sweet enough, but not quite enough to stand on its own without the cheese, so the parts of the muffin mysteriously devoid of creamy goodness are sadly not flavourful enough for my jaded tastebuds. My parents seem to like it, though- they have this thing against too-sweet food, and it seems this is just to their taste, particularly when one can spread butter and honey on it and make it more like a scone. So, yes. As they’re the ones who’ll be eating most of it, I’m content to leave it at that.

Well, and update the recipe above to include more sugar, so next time stands my approval as well. That too.

2 Responses to “lemon, yoghurt and cream-cheese muffins.”

  1. tommo39 Says:

    If you make lemon cheese pudding, you can be my friend 🙂


  2. Huh. It’s a pity then that I’m already your friend, isn’t it?

    And what on earth is a lemon cheese pudding? Find me a recipe and I might just make it for you.


Comments are closed.

