a new May shanty

August 26, 2011

The night outside is nightly darker than my darkened fist
those lips are redder than the reddest lips your lips have kissed
I have no answer for your scorn, no song to sing you nay-
I wear no stockings gartered up between the months of May.

oh hey, hey, humming nonny-o hey
swing little and low, sleepy bats in the hay.

my heart is bludgeoned dead as dead as dead as dead can be
your voice has caught itself a necktie swinging from a tree
my love, your hands are bloody on this windy autumn day
I wear no stockings, eat no fruit between the months of May. oh,
hey, hey, humming nonny-o hey
sing sweet and true, little mouths of the day.

we have no fish between our laps although our hands are tied
and though our eyes are separate the ocean roars inside
like a shipwreck in a modesty, between the knees we play
for I wear no stockings,  love no selves between the months of May. oh,
hey, hey, o-hey nonny hey
fiddle longbowed and long, as the blinded men say.

and were you to cut across my path within an autumn wood
maybe your heart would battle mine as every good heart should
tho’ the slaying both would rise again in colours gold and grey
for I wear no stockings, tell no lies to you, my months of May , oh
I wear no locks and eat no pies within the months of May, oh
I wear no stockings, sleepily rise between the months of May, of May
between the months of May, oh
hey, hey, humming hey-nonny-o hey
I love no beloveds till hope bleeds away
humming hey, hey, o-hey nonny hey
my voice is a silence at the end of your way
and your voice is my pistol and we shall not stay.

