procrastination (- hide)

April 29, 2012

I’m discovering how to procrastinate productively.

it’s curiously predictable. if I want to avoid recording songs, I record readings for librivox.org. if I want to avoid recording readings, I look for more things to read for librivox.org. Or I read. reading’s a bit of a dead end in this game; I don’t avoid reading at all. but if I don’t have anything I want to read at present, I write. And if I want to avoid writing fiction, I organise my room. My attempts at stories are becoming very visible in the state of my shelves.

If I want to avoid sorting my wardrobe, which is mostly my floor, I sew. If I want to avoid sewing, I read, write, sing, take things apart with screwdrivers or draw costumes. Or I look for more patterns and styles on the internet.

unfortunately the internet is still, as ever, a default dead-end of procrastination. but it falls under the category of ‘research’. Knowing things is good. Input is as necessary as output.

 

if I want to avoid reading the bible, I write. to or about God. if I want to avoid writing to or about God, which is to say if I want to avoid thinking about God, I read, sing, clean, record, shower, cook, write stories, write songs, take apart things with screwdrivers, visit friends, do laundry, paint boxes, paint faces, eat biscuits, go opshopping, roleplay, hang out with my flatmates, drink tea, organise my bookshelf, organise my music, write poetry, blog, sleep. go on the internet. sleep.

… I hadn’t actually considered why I do things in light of what I’m avoiding.

Leave a Reply

