a brief interlude of show-and-tell: Sara Groves

March 23, 2013

“If it comes too quick
I may not recognize it
Is that the reason behind all this time and sand?

If it comes too quick
I may not appreciate it
Is that the reason behind all this time and sand?”

 

So I’ve just found Sara Groves on my perambulations about the internet. And she’s interesting. I kinda like her. Her music’s not really to my taste; it’s very easy-listening contemporary American Christian with a bit of a country feel to the melodies; ubiquitous yawning strings, standard 4/4 beats, nice voice, unsurprising chords and a mostly unexciting melody on an uncomplicated, warm piano base. Nothing particularly complex or sharply delightful there (I prefer a little kick to my music- if I can’t concentrate on reading or working while I’m listening to it, because of the complexities, then it’s my kind of song-), but her lyrics– now those are worth paying attention to.

They’re equally warm and rounded in feeling, which means that’s pretty much her style, but the topics she explores are- not entirely the standard fare. Like the song titled Cave of Adullum. Or the one quoted above, Painting Pictures of Egypt. And maybe it’s just that I tend to stay out of the easy-listening contemporary Christian scene and so am entirely unaware of topical trends in it, but surely this much Old Testament reference isn’t normal? And there’s simplicity to her lyrics, but it’s a simplicity that says there’s more here; this phrase here is a summary of a whole lot more thought. She knows her way around words, and she thinks good things. There are good words in her writing, and good thoughts in her thinking. And it’s not fancy, but it doesn’t need to be. It’s clear and lovely and thoughtful and truthful, which is what we need most in the music we listen to and the things we read.

 

And I’m still pretty chuffed about the Old Testament stuff. Because the Old Testament is awesome, and we don’t pay enough attention to the stories of the Israelites in our contemporary creative explorations of the Bible. Which is a waste, because just lookit all that juicy, explosive, violent narrative, just sitting there for the mining-through! Seriously. Goldmine.

 

 

… and I’ma get back to doing my readings on the Trinity. Last up was Michael Reeves illustrating Gnosticism with dogs, vomit and a peaceful room with a very good book, huzzah. Can’t wait to see how this turns out.

Leave a Reply

